The Federal Government has approved eight new private universities located in different parts of the country. The Minister of State for Education, Anthony Onwuka, speaking to State House correspondents on Wednesday disclosed how the ministry submitted an application for the approval of the new private institutions after recommendation by the National Universities Commission.

He further revealed the names of the universities which are:

  1. Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos State
  2. Arthur Jarvis University,Akpabuyo, Calabar, Cross River State
  3. Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia State
  4. Coal City University, Enugu ,Enugu State
  5. Crown Hill University, Eiyenkorin , Kwara State
  6. Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  7. Kola Daisy University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  8. Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State

The new universitites have been given three-years provisional licenses.