The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Kolawole Taiwo as winner of  Ajeromi-Ifelodun Federal  Constituency election.

The electoral body had on Saturday conducted supplementary election in 71 polling units across eight wards of the constituency for the House of Representatives seat.

The Commission had declared the February 23 election in the constituency  as inconclusive due to over-voting, non-compliance with the use of smart card readers and widespread violence.

Announcing the results of the election at the INEC Collation Centre located at Local Authority Primary School, Baale Street. Ajegunle, the Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Olusoji Ilori said Taiwo polled a total of 36,115 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mrs. Rita Orji of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 32,557 votes.

Ilori said Mr. Matin Iwonlaye of Accord Party had 587 votes, Mr. Jimoh Rasheed of PPN got 206 votes, Mr. David Kola of AD polled 158 votes, Mr. Michael Ogoeke of APP polled 149 votes while Ms. Julie King of APDA polled 112 votes.

According to him, Adebayo Adegbenro of ADC scored 107 votes, Mr. Kennedy Nzemiro of PPC had 90 votes, Mr. Morenikeji Oluwole of MPN had 39 votes, Mr. Jacob Ogundiran of DPC scored 17 votes while Ms. Victoria Oladipupo of DA polled 06 votes.

“I declare that Kolawole Taiwo Musbau of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” Ilori said.