The Nigerian Federal Government has ordered the shutdown of three international airports in the country to curb the spread of Coronavirus.

The three airports are Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano, Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu and the Port Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa.

The shutdown is effective from March 21, 2020.

The Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Musa Nuhu disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

He also said the Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja and the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos would still be open but no flight operations will be allowed from the 15 COVID-19 (Coronavirus) high-risk countries.