Usman Ododo, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been declared the winner of the Kogi state governorship election.

Ododo polled 446, 237 votes to defeat Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who came second with  259,052 votes. Dino Melaye, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), scored 46,362 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer for Kogi, Johnson Urama, made the declaration on Sunday night.

Dino Melaye has however called for the cancellation of the Kogi gubernatorial election.

He alleged that result sheets manifested even before the commencement of the accreditation of voters on Saturday.

The SDP had also called for the cancellation of the election in the central senatorial district of Kogi.