By Peter Oyedele |

The Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission has announced the results of the chairmanship and councillorship polls held on Saturday. In the results of the 18 local government areas of the state announced, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won all the chairmanship positions and 202 councillorship seats. The only other party that had a win apart from the PDP was the ACPN which won a lone councillorship seat out of 203.

The Chairman of Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission, ODIEC, Prof. Olugbenga Ige, at the headquarters of the commission in Akure on Sunday, noted that only 14 political parties contested the election and that the ruling party won all the chairmanship positions of the 18 local government councils. During the announcement of the results, Prof. Ige expressed appreciation to all stakeholders in the election process for the cooperation and support given to the commission. He described the election as hitch-free due to the fact that there was no record of violence or electoral malpractice.

The ODIEC Chairman also announced that the winners of the polls would be issued Certificates of Return at the Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission headquarters on Monday, April 25, 2016.

The main opposition party in the state, the APC, has however alleged that the supposed winners of the election had already been selected before the exercise.

In a statement issued by the Ondo State Director of Media and Publicity of the Party, Mr. Steve Ofaloro, the APC alleged that the PDP rigged the polls but created the impression that there was an impressive turnout of voters. Indeed, the APC boycotted the elections.