The 19th edition of the annual PSR National Awards have been held in Lagos. Men and women who have distinguished themselves in their various spheres of endeavour were honoured at a colourful, well-attended ceremony which was held at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs on Kofo Abayomi Road, Victoria Island.

The event which was on Saturday, October 26, had recipients drawn from various fields including Higher Education, Education, Human Medicine & Orthodox Medical Practice, Medical Diagnostic Services, Physiotherapy & Medical Rehabilitation Services, Nursing, Nursing Education, Women Empowerment & Development as well as Youth Empowerment & Development.

Other fields included Architecture, Food, Catering & Restaurant Services, Residential, Corporate & Industrial Cleaning Services, Colour & Filler Masterbatch Production, Optometry, Dentistry, Fashion Design & Fashion Design Education, Tourism & Travel Management Services, Etiquette & Personal Image Enhancement Training, Special Needs Children Education & Home-Care Nursing Services.

The recipients included Prof. (Mrs.) Naomi James – Rugu, Mr. Jaiprakash Changrani, Dr Abiodun Olusanya, Dr Adrienne Tikolo, Mrs. Uwemedimo Umonnan, Mrs. Okeyinfu Gladys Ajayi, Mrs. Omon Olohigbe Omoike, Mrs. Janet Adetu, Mrs. Jane Frances Iwuorie and Mrs. Bolanle Olubusola Ojo.

The honourands also included Dr Benjamin Oluwatosin Olowojebutu, Mr. Ebele Enunwa, Mrs. Obiageli Awugosi, Mrs. Boroji Osindero, Mrs. Bosede Adeyanju, Mrs. Margaret Ayorinde, Mrs. Deborah Oreoluwa Onifade, Mrs. Priscilla Ngozi Okechukwu, Mrs. Olayinka Osuntogun, Dr Ibijoke Eyitemi Akinola, Dr Ihunanya Egegbara, Dr Maryanne Ogiefo, Mrs. Ime Usen Udo, Mrs. Abimbola Osagie, Mrs. Funmilayo Shittu, Mrs. Moradeyo Olutimilehin and Mrs. Ololade Aruna.

Honoured also were Lady Chikwe Ochiagha, Chief (Mrs.) Augustina Ovueraye, Dr Patricia Harry, Dr (Mrs.) Modupe Adedeji, Chief (Mrs.) Omolara Hassan, Mrs. Ngozi Faith Ikoro and Mr. Alexander Ogedengbe.

The list also included Mr. James Inedu George, Dr Ogechi Nwokedi, Dr (Mrs.) Funmi Abraham–Bamigboje and Mr. Olatunji Kelvin Johnson.

To read the profiles of the distinguished Nigerians who were conferred with the awards, visit our IMPACT section. Profiles of the women who were honoured can also be read in the WOMAN section.