The ADC presidential primary was held in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital on Wednesday.

Kachikwu emerged as the overall winner with 978 votes ahead of the former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Kingsley Moghalu who polled 589 votes.

Chukwuka Monye scored 339 votes while Princess Chichi Ojei got 72. Evang. Ebiti Ndok Jegede polled five votes and Lady Angela Johnson finished with one vote.

While giving his acceptance speech, the presidential candidate promised purposeful leadership to rescue the country from the current challenges facing it, just as he extended the hand of fellowship to other contestants.

The ADC candidate will be contesting in the 2023 presidential election alongside former vice president Atiku Abubakar of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and former Anambra State governor Peter Obi of the Labour Party.