The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the appointment of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar as the new Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG). Abubakar, previously in charge of Zone 14 Katsina, will now represent the North East in the Police Management Team. This appointment fills the vacant position by DIG Habu Sani, who recently retired.

In addition to Abubakar’s appointment, the PSC has approved the promotion of 122 senior police officers. This includes the elevation of 10 Commissioners of Police to AIGs, 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police to substantive Commissioners, and 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners. Furthermore, 61 Chief Superintendents of Police have been promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police.

The decisions were made during an extraordinary Management Meeting of the Commission on June 6, 2024, presided over by the Commission Chairman, Solomon Arase.

Chairman Arase emphasized the importance of a knowledge-driven police force capable of adapting to the dynamic landscape of crime and criminality, particularly with information and communication technology advancements. He urged the newly promoted officers to remain committed to securing the nation and enhancing public safety.

The newly promoted AIGs include:

  • Ahmed Ammani, former CP Enugu, now in ICT Department, Force Headquarters
  • Mohammed Dankwara Adamu, Deputy Commandant Police Academy, Wudil Kano
  • Gumel Mohammed Usaini, CP Kano State Command
  • Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, CP Oyo State Command
  • Okuoma Idegwu Basil, CP Elections, Force Headquarters Abuja
  • Achinyan Zachary’s Fera, CP FCID Enugu
  • Baba Zango Ibrahim, CP DFA, FCID, Abuja
  • Mohammed Isyaku, CP Admin, FCID Annex Lagos
  • Margaret Agebe Ochalla, CP Police Special Fraud Unit Annex Lagos

The promoted Deputy Commissioners of Police to Commissioners of Police include:

  • Bassey Samuel Ewah, DC Admin, Department of Operations, Force Headquarters
  • Osagie John Agans-Irabor, SCID, Benue State Command
  • Edem Ita Selong, Admin and Finance, Zone 9 Umuahia
  • Monday Agbonika, Interpol Annex Lagos
  • Michael Okoh, Department of Operations, Zone 9 Umuahia
  • Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, State CID, Oyo State Command
  • Iyama Daniel Edobor, Operations Department, Bayelsa State Command
  • Isa Danladi Nda, SWAT, FCID Abuja
  • Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima, Zonal CID, Zone 17 Akure
  • Livingston Ikioye Orutugu, Commandant PMF Training School Ende Hills Jos

The list of promoted officers has been sent to the Inspector General of Police for implementation and further necessary actions.