Luka Modric has won the Ballon d’Or award for the year 2018 ending the 10-year duopoly of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Modric helped Real Madrid win a third successive Champions League title in May and captained Croatia to their first World Cup final. He was named player of the tournament despite Croatia’s 4-2 loss to France.

“As a kid we all had dreams. My dream was to play for a big club and win important trophies.”

“The Ballon d’Or was more than just a dream for me and it is really an honour and a privilege to hold this trophy.” Modric said.

The award, voted for by journalists and organised by French magazine, France Football, has been dominated by Messi and Ronaldo since 2008.

Ronaldo was second in the voting followed by France forward, Antoine Griezmann. Kylian Mbappe was fourth while Messi was fifth – the first time he had been outside the top three since 2007.

Egyptian forward, Mohamed Salah was sixth, Real Madrid’s Frenchman, Raphale Varane was seventh, Eden Hazard was eight, Kevin de Bruyne was ninth and Harry Kane was tenth.