The US media have reported that the Trump administration is planning to add seven countries namely Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania to its travel ban list.

The reports however add that some countries will face bans only on some visa categories and that the list of countries was not final and could yet change.

U.S. President Donald Trump said in an interview with The Journal that he was considering adding countries to the travel ban, but declined to state which ones. Politico reported that an announcement was expected as early as Monday.

The move is likely to sour ties between the United States and the countries affected under the expanded ban.

Nigeria, for example, Africa’s largest economy and most populous country, is a U.S. anti-terrorism partner and has a large population of people residing in the United States.

A senior Trump administration official said that countries that failed to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information-sharing and counter-terrorism measures, faced the risk of limitations on U.S. immigration.