The immediate past Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila has emerged  Speaker of the ninth House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila, who represents Surulere Federal Constituency I of Lagos State in the National Assembly garnered 281 votes out of 358 votes cast to defeat his only contender, Umar Bago (Chanchaga Constituency, Niger State) who got 76 votes . One vote was declared invalid.

Gbajabiamila , who is the longest -serving lawmaker in the House was endorsed by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as its preferred candidate.

The House also unanimously elected Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase as the Deputy Speaker of the ninth Assembly. Wase emerged unopposed after his nomination by two honourable members.