Theresa May will officially step down as the leader of the Conservative Party on Friday but will remain as British Prime Minister until her successor is chosen.

Eleven Conservative members of Parliament  are vying to replace her as party leader and ultimately, Prime Minister. The winner of the contest is expected to be announced on July 22.

The end of May’s time as party leader will come in a private exchange of letters with Charles Walker and Dame Cheryl Gillan, the joint Acting Chairmen of the 1922 Committee of backbench Conservative MPs.

May announced her resignation two weeks ago, saying it was a matter of deep regret that she had been unable to deliver Brexit. She will however remain the acting party leader during the leadership election process.

Mrs. May’s time as leader has been dominated by Brexit, with her party divided over the issue and her eventual failure to get her deal through the British Parliament.

The United Kingdom was originally meant to leave the European Union (EU) on March 29 but the plan was pushed forward to April 12 and eventually October 31.

Although the contest for the leadership of the Conservative Party will not officially start until May steps down, the candidates who need eight MPs to back them have already been jostling for the position.

The MPs will vote for their preferred candidates in a series of secret ballots to be held on June 13, 18, 19 and 20 June.

The top two candidates after the first poll will then be put to a vote of members of the wider Conservative Party from June 22, with the winner expected to be announced about four weeks later.

How the next Prime Minister gets a Brexit deal through Parliament and whether they would settle for a no-deal exit have so far been the dominant questions of the campaigns.