The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Governor Hope Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of the Imo State governorship election held this past weekend.

According to the state’s Returning Officer, Prof. Abayomi Fasina, Uzodimma received 540,308 votes across all 27 local government areas to secure a second term in office. His closest challenger, Samuel Anyanwu of the Peoples Democratic Party, earned just 71,503 votes.

Labour Party candidate Athan Achonu came in third place with 64,081 votes, followed by All Progressives Grand Alliance’s Anthony Ejiogu at 6,392 votes. Action Alliance candidate Jack Ogunewe rounded out the top five with 5,756 votes.

During the tabulation process, some opposition party agents voiced concerns over alleged vote manipulation and irregularities.

Uzodimma will officially start his second term as governor following an inauguration ceremony slated for January 14th, 2024. His dominant performance solidifies APC’s firm grasp on Imo State.