Ajayi Agboola, former Deputy Governor of Ondo State, has clinched the candidacy of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the upcoming November governorship election in the state. Agboola secured victory with 264 votes at the party’s primary held on Wednesday.

The contest saw a total of seven aspirants vying for the PDP ticket, with a turnout of 621 accredited delegates. Former House of Representatives member Kolade Akinjo emerged as the runner-up, polling 157 votes. Other notable contenders included former Afenifere Secretary General Chief Sola Ebiseni, who garnered 99 votes, and Adeolu Akinwumi with 64 votes.

Chairman of the PDP primary election committee and Bayelsa State Deputy Governor Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo pledged to oversee a transparent and credible process.

Agboola’s political journey saw him serve as deputy governor to the late Rotimi Akeredolu until 2020. Following unsuccessful attempts to impeach him ahead of the 2020 governorship election, Agboola defected to the PDP. Despite contesting on the Zenith Labour Party ticket after losing the PDP nomination to Eyitayo Jegede, he secured third place in the 2020 election with 69,127 votes.

Agboola now faces incumbent Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa, another former deputy under Akeredolu, who emerged as the All Progressives Congress (APC) gubernatorial candidate. The stage is set for a fiercely contested election come November.