Godwin Obaseki

The tension, anxiety and permutations that ensued in the build up to the Edo State governorship eased up at exactly 3:53pm on Thursday, when the returning officer elections, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, who is also the Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Oye Ekiti pronounced Godwin Obaseki, candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) as the winner of the polls. Somerekun announced that Obaseki polled a total of 319, 493 votes to beat his closest rival namely Pastor Osagie Ize – Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who earned 253, 173 votes. The candidates of the All Progressives Grand Alliance and Labour Party polled 876 votes and 182 votes to place third and fourth respectively.

The final results of the Wednesday polls did not go down well with the Peoples Democratic Party and the KOWA Party as their agents withheld their endorsement by refusing to sign the comprehensive result sheets at the state collation centre of the Independent National Electoral Commission office in Benin City. No sooner had the results been announced than scores of PDP supporters flooded the major city centres across Edo State singing protest songs, accusing both INEC and the ruling All Progressive Congress of trying to subvert the wishes of the generality of Edo people by manipulating the entire process. One of the protesting groups namely Generational Shift Movement (GSM), particularly called for the cancellation of the result of ballots from Oredo, Ikpoba – Okha and Aduwawa areas of the state.

The PDP flagbearer, Pastor Ize – Iyamu, discredited INEC for not being a fair umpire. He said: “The results of the election were written at the State Government House in connivance with some, INEC officials and security agencies. The delay in announcing the official results by INEC was clearly predetermined in order for the APC and INEC to do what they are doing now, which is to announce fabricated results that are completely at variance with what happened at the polling units.”

Other top brass of the party in Edo State who registered their grievances with the exercise ranging from allegations of open financial inducement of voters as well as snatching of ballot boxes by the APC. Senator representing Edo south, Chief Matthew Urhogide complained to the Guardian: “What they are doing have been predetermined and I have told the REC to reverse the cancellation of election results for Ward 2, Unit 9 in Oredo Local Council.”The State Chairman of the PDP in Edo State, Chief Dan Orbih kicked against the outcome of election. He described the entire process as “fabricated and pre-determined.”

However, the winning camp of the All Progressives Congress is brimming with jubilation. The APC candidate, Godwin Obaseki who is an avid loyalist of the outgoing governor Adams Oshiomhole was seen in company of several APC bigwigs including the National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and incumbent governor of Lagos State, Akinwumi Ambode savouring the hard-earned victory on Thursday evening at the Edo State Government House.

Mr. Anselm Ojezua, the State Chairman of the APC took a swipe at the PDP for refusing to accept the result of the election. Having assessed the entire process as peaceful, free and fair, Ojezua further said: “This is just a case of a bad loser. It is a pity that the PDP expected to win a state which it had pulled down. INEC was efficient in the delivery of the materials by ensuring that they got to their locations on time. The PDP or other people who are not satisfied with the outcome of the election should channel their grievances to the appropriate quarters.”


The Election Results at a Glance


1. Akoko – Edo 24, 545 13, 027
2. Egor 26, 177 19, 514
3. Esan Central 9, 781 10, 180
4. Esan North – East 9, 130 16, 220
5. Esan South – East 9, 554 11, 466
6. Esan West 13, 114 16, 311
7. Etsako Central 10, 373 8, 827
8. Etsako East 18, 078 12, 552
9. Etsako West 29, 199 10, 843
10. Igueben 7, 802 7, 560
11. Ikpoba – Okha 33, 469 26, 096
12. Oredo 37, 612 30, 492
13. Orhionmwon 15, 262 16, 446
14. Ovia North – East 17, 561 13, 141
15. Owan East 21, 233 12, 889
16. Ovia South – West 12, 820 8, 810
17. Owan West 12, 862 10, 132
18. Uhunmwonde 10, 911 8, 667
Total: 319, 483 253, 173