Some kingmakers in Kano State have employed the services of seven Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANs) and 17 other lawyers to battle Governor Abdullahi Ganduje and the state’s  House Assembly in court over the creation of new emirates in the state.

The Kingmakers, Yusuf Nabahani (Madakin Kano), Sarki Ibrahim (Makaman Kano), Bello Abubakar (Sarkin Dawaki Maituta) and Mukhtar Adnan (Sarkin Bai) on Tuesday filed a suit at the State High Court against the Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly,the Kano State House of Assembly, the Kano State governor, the Attorney General of Kano State and the four emirs appointed by the governor.

The lawyers hired by the kingmakers include Prince Lateef Fegbemi (SAN, FCIArb (UK)), AB Mahmoud (OON, SAN, FCIArb, (UK)), Adeniyi Akintola (SAN), Suraj Sa’eda (SAN), Hakeem O. Afolabi (SAN), Paul Usoro (SAN), Nassir Abdu Dangiri (SAN).

Others are Maliki Kuliya Umar Esq, Nureini S. Jimoh Esq, Dr. Nasiru Aliyu Esq, Sagir Gezawa Esq, Muritala O. Abdulrasheq Esq, Aminu S. Gadanya Esq, Ismail Abdulaziz Esq, Rashidi Isamotu Esq, Oseni Sefullahi Esq, Ibrahim Abdullahi Esq, Haruna Saleh Zakariyya Esq, Auwal A. Dabo Esq, Badamasi Sulaiman Esq, O. O. Samuel Esq, Fariha Sani Abdullahi, Yahaya Isah Abdulrasheed, ACIArb (UK) and Amira Hamisu. 

According to one of the reliefs they sought, the kingmakers said the purported new law which created four new emirates in the state has distorted history, especially as it regards  the positions they, the kingmakers hold in the emirate.

The top emirate council members further said their position is a heritage in trust for their respective clans of Jobawa, Sullubawa, Yolawa and Dambazawa.

The Kano State House of Assembly (KNHA) had last week approved the amendment of the Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs law, paving way for the decentralization of the Kano Emirate Council.

The bill, known as Kano Emirs Appointment and Deposition Amendment Bill 2019 which allows for the creation of four more first class emirs in Rano, Karaye, Bichi and Gaya councils was promptly signed into law by Governor Ganduje.