The speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr Collins Chiji on Tuesday announced his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He made the announcement during the plenary session of the house. He also announced the defection of seven other lawmakers from the PDP to the APC.

The defected lawmakers are Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Michael Njoku (Ihitte Uboma) and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

Today’s defection brings the total number of APC lawmakers to eighteen as nine lawmakers defected last week.