INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has de-registered 74 political parties for failing to satisfy the requirements to operate as contained in the Fourth Alteration to the Constitution.

The Commission also cleared 16 political parties, which it said have fulfilled the requirements for existence in line with section 225A of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

The certified political parties include: Accord Party (AP), Action Alliance (AA), African Action Congress (AAC), African Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Labour Party (LP) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Others are: National Rescue Movement (NRM), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressive Party (YPP) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Briefing journalists at the INEC Headquarters in Abuja, the INEC National Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, however said two additional political parties namely the Action Peoples Party (APP) which obtained Order of Court against its de-registration and another political party registered by Court Order after the 2019 general elections will continue to exist.

Professor Mahmood Yakubu also disclosed that the Commission has fixed September 19, 2020 for the governorship election in Edo State and October 10, 2020 for the gubernatorial election in Ondo state.