The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, announced that the National Judicial Council (NJC) has begun the process of holding judges accountable for issuing misleading and conflicting judgments. Speaking at the inauguration of 22 new justices for the Court of Appeal on Wednesday at the Supreme Court of Nigeria in Abuja, Justice Ariwoola described the conduct of such judges as an embarrassment to the judiciary that will not be tolerated.

He urged the newly appointed justices to uphold the constitution and avoid engaging in disreputable behavior. Alongside the Appeal Court justices, 11 new judges for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) were also sworn in. Among those sworn in were Eberechi Wike, wife of the FCT Minister, and Justice Donatus Okorowo of the Federal High Court, Abuja.

The new Appeal Court justices include:
– Abdullahi Muhammad Liman (Nasarawa State)
– Abiodun Azeem Akinyemi (Ogun State)
– Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi (Oyo State)
– Zainab Bage Abubakar (Kebbi State)
– Isaq Mohammed Sani (Kaduna State)
– Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo (Lagos State)
– Ngozika Okaisabor (Imo State)
– Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola (Kogi State)
– Polycarp Terna Kwahar (Benue State)
– Fadawa Umaru (Borno State)
– Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola (Oyo State)
– Ntong Festus Ntong (Akwa Ibom State)
– Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi (Edo State)
– Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba (Abia State)
– Abdu Dogo (Federal Capital Territory, Abuja)
– Abdulazeez M. Anka (Zamfara State)
– Owibunkeonye Onwosi (Ebonyi State)
– Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf (Kwara State)
– Victoria Toochukwu Nwoye (Anambra State)
– Enenche Eleojo (Kogi State)

Justice Ariwoola emphasized the importance of integrity and adherence to the rule of law in their judicial conduct, urging them to serve with dedication and avoid the pitfalls that have plagued some members of the judiciary.