The 2018 nominations for the Songwriters Hall of Fame have been announced. Among those nominated for induction are Missy Elliot, Mariah Carey, John Prine, the Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde, Reggae legend, Jimmy Cliff as well as ELO’s Jeff Lynne.

Other artistes and songwriters nominated this year include Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart of Eurythmics and Cat Stevens. The final inductees will be announced in the coming months.

Missy’s inclusion marks the first time a female rapper has been nominated to the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Last year, American rapper, Jay Z became the first rap artiste to be inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame.

Missy, who has written songs for Mary J. Blige, Destiny’s Child, Fantasia, Beyonce, Janet Jackson, Jazmine Sullivan and Whitney Houston took to her Twitter handle on Wednesday to express her appreciation for being nominated.

I am so humbly grateful to be nominated with so many amazing writers & I send congratulations to all the other nominees also,” Missy tweeted.

Songwriters are eligible for induction after writing hit songs for at least 20 years. On the 13th of June, 2019, six songwriters or songwriting groups will be officially inducted at the 50th annual Induction & Awards Gala to be held in New York.