The Kogi State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has upheld the election of Usman Ododo as Governor of Kogi State. In a ruling delivered on Monday, the three-member panel led by Justice Ado Birnin-Kudu dismissed the petition filed by Muritala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The tribunal concluded that Ajaka and his party failed to substantiate their allegations against the respondents. Justice Birnin-Kudu stated that the election was conducted in substantial compliance with the Electoral Act, thereby validating the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

INEC had declared Usman Ododo, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of the governorship election held on November 11, 2023. Ododo secured 446,237 votes, significantly ahead of Ajaka, who received 259,052 votes. Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came in third with 46,362 votes.

Ododo, who previously served as the Auditor General of Kogi State, was sworn in on January 27, 2024.